iRichardMisrach

So he’s now infamous for being on the front of the iPad.

Some say Misrach pioneered large-format color photography in the United States.  Now whether or not that is true he’s had others working along side during that period of time that I feel have contributed as well, for instance Stephen Shore and Joel Sternfeld.  The latter two have been recognized widely for their contributions.  Yet, now with the introduction of the iPad, Misrach and his Pyramid Lake photograph which graces the desktop out of the box take center stage:

The $600 Misrach/technology device

Here is the original photo:

Better without all the clutter and it's cropped correctly!!!

Now, I’m all for him putting this out there and I hope he was compensated immensely for having his image on everyone’s iPad right out of the box, but let’s say I’m Richard and I see people holding their iPad vertically and the auto-rotation is constantly cropping my photo to shit.  Do I get upset?  Well, not if I got high 5 or 6 figures for it I guess.

Anyway, I’m on the fence about the amount of compensation that makes this forgivable.  But I just hope he was compensated enough.  At least its not as big a sellout as Mr. Sternfeld’s iPhone/iDubai project….ugh.  The link is to Marcus Doyle‘s blog, where I read about Sternfeld’s latest project.  Obviously Marcus takes exception to Sternfeld’s foray into small format digital and I can’t help agreeing with him, but at the same time, I feel he has every right to do what he wants and make money however he feels it’s necessary.  Now, does it drag down my feelings for Sternfeld?  Yes.  Will I still respect his previous work?  Yes.  Will I be excited for his next work?  Hell, no.  Do I consider the iDubai project a complete and utter sellout?  Umm, hells yeah!

But who would actually shun all the money either of these two made?

Plus, Misrach last body of work is impressive.  Hopefully he won’t fall into the iDubai trap since it looks like his work is still up to snuff.

From, On the Beach. ©Richard Misrach 2007

Cover to, On the Beach. ©Richard Misrach 2007

Leave a Reply

