Keet Steel

The hike to Keet Steel took around 2 hours each way.  My NPS guide was Hopi and we talked about my dealings with the tribe, whether I would get access, who I was working with, etc.  He seemed to know everyone and said my project made sense to him but the elders would take their time and I would have to go through a lot of paperwork.

So in the meantime here I was where my guide told me his ancestors were from.  He explained that the construction of these pueblos were not as simple as drying mud bricks and finding the enclosure.  The timber used was hauled in from over 100 or 200 miles away.  Doesn’t sound like a lot for today’s standards?  Consider that the people of that time period had NO PACK ANIMALS.  Horses, mules, cows, all came over via the Europeans.  Buffalo were obviously not domesticated and rarely visited the area anyway.  Deer were the largest animals along with mountain lions and cougars.

The timbers used in construction of the pueblos were not endemic to the area.

While we were in the natural enclosure of the cliff dwelling, the skies opened up with rain.  He explained that after someone from Hopi passes on they return in the form of clouds.  The rain was a gift from all those that had lived before him, his ancestors, to him, his family, his clan and everyone else in Hopi.  Water is such a precious thing to the Hopi, almost sacred.  And tomorrow I’ll show how others outside of Hopi treat that sacred resource.

One Response to “Keet Steel”

  1. Molly Nelson Van Ort Says:

    The pueblo dwellings are always mysterious to me. They seem to hold secrets but at the same time they look like they were very cozy and comforting for the people who lived there. I really like the top picture with the shade and the light.

Leave a Reply

