Frank Meadow Sutcliffe

Sutcliffe's "Among the Turnips"

He once said, “The photographer lives in two worlds, the world as it is, and the world as it is photographed.  It is the difference between the two which gives him so much trouble.”

This means a lot after not being able to make my way into Hopi Land.  I witnessed their world as it is.  Not as how I would see it as it is photographed.  That is the way they wished for me to see it and that is the way it will be, for now.  So be it.  I will try not to let it trouble me too much.

I will have to go back and try again.  I can’t leave it be.  I won’t let it be.  I think Paul McCartney is full of crap when he sang that.

Leave a Reply

