At Work

 

Anita and Sophie wash a great dane at South Acton dog and cat grooming.

Anita and Sophie wash a great dane at South Acton dog and cat grooming.

First assignment at LCC for me.  Go out and photograph three different people at work.  We were given two weeks to complete the assignment.  More than anything it taught me that I had to find leads, follow them and follow them some more.  Sometimes when you get told to come on a certain day or time, you will maybe even have to come back at a different date or time.

I really didn’t have anything to shoot until four days after I started looking for places/people to shoot.

Nate sizes up a leg of beef.

Nate sizes up a leg of beef.

We were told to spend about an hour at each place we photographed.  I chose work environments that seemed visually stimulating, but the work would reach a repetitive standard after about 20 minutes.  Nate the butcher could only hack up a leg of beef so many ways.  In order for me to keep myself involved I found I had to ask him what he was doing after a while, otherwise I would have been standing there looking at him do the same thing I had just photographed over and over.

Nate rips into a leg with a...HACKSAW?!?!?

Nate rips into a leg with a...HACKSAW?!?!?

Of course seeing an entire leg of beef being cut in two by a hacksaw is amazing but after a while, well… that’s when you go photograph a guy feeding pigeons.

Eric does his daily routine.

Eric does his daily routine.

Eric has been feeding the pigeons for 32 years now.  He says he has hardly ever missed a day.  He showed me a pigeon he’s seen for almost 2 years now.  He has a crooked beak and Eric says that if it weren’t for him hand feeding this one particular bird then it probably wouldn’t have made it this far.  He seemed interesting enough for the 30 minutes I spent with him, but I was glad I didn’t have to meet him every day for the next 32 years!

A seagull snatches a piece of bread out of the sky.

A seagull snatches a piece of bread out of the sky.

What did I get from the assignment?  You can put yourself in an interesting situation to try and get great photographs, but more than likely you will see the same stuff over and over.

Leave a Reply

